When you let the Lord hold your hands….

Photo by Paweu0142 L. on Pexels.com

There’s something the Lord does when He holds our hands. Psalm 23:2 says when He holds my hands, He leads me beside still waters and restores my soul.

Still waters connotes peace and calm; a sense of unabashed rest and quietness. Where you have peace beyond human understanding – the kind of peace that only the Prince (Owner) of Peace can give.

Today, as these words drop in my spirit man in my meditative state in beginning the start of the month that signifies the end of the first half of the year, this is my heartfelt prayer. That the Lord will help me never to reach a point where I let go of His hands and think that I can lead myself. Because, where exactly can I lead myself? Did I fashion anything in this world to know exactly the nooks and crevices to walk through to get to my final destination? And the answer is no! No matter how much I think I may know about myself, about life, and the world, that knowledge will always be limited. It will always be limited by my finite nature as a human being. It will always be limited by the fact that I can never see the future nor even predict with precision every step to take in the present.

Even the best players of chess cannot predict the future because no one has control over the future. Only God does. And it is that God that says He wants to hold my hands and constantly lead me beside still waters. Not only constantly leads me to still waters, He also constantly wants to restore and rejuvenate my soul and keep it as stellar as an eagle and as bold as a lion.

When we let the Lord hold our hands, He leads us to prepared blessings daily. He says this in Jeremiah 29:11 that He has only great plans for us. And in 3 John 1:2 He says His only desire for me is to prosper and be in good health even as my soul prospers. So, you can see that the Lord holding your hands can only ever spell goodness and graciousness.

I started this short post by saying “when you let…” And that is because you actually do have a choice of whether or not to let the Lord hold your hands. Yes, you have a choice. God will never force Himself on anyone nor force His choices on you. Little wonder He told the children of Israel that they had a choice between life and death (Deuteronomy 30:19).

And the only way you know if you are letting God hold your hands is in how we live our lives. Do we live it the way Proverbs 3:5-6 talks about in trusting Him with everything. And I mean EVERYTHING??! Or are there still those areas of our lives that we consider no-go areas for God? Those areas we believe we would always be in the better know about than even God Himself? Can you even hear the irony in the latter statement hehehe.

Letting God hold our hands means letting Him be in charge and stay in charge in every area of our lives. It means choosing to trust God even when it seemingly makes no sense or in those times He would ask you to do things that on their face makes no sense to our human sensibilities. It is only when we live our lives in this way, can we boldly proclaim that we are letting God hold our hands.

And then when you look at the preceding verse before the one I earlier referenced in Psalm 23 about God leading us beside still waters, you see that it starts by saying that the Lord is Shepherd. And it is by being Shepherd that He will then lead us beside the still water. As is common knowledge, a shepherd has control over the flock/sheep. And this means that the sheep trusts the shepherd and goes wherever the shepherd leads them to. They follow “sheepishly”. Hehehe, its no surprise that word “sheepish” was coined from the shepherd-sheep relationship. And so you see that until you get to the point of total surrender, you can never really fully let God hold your hand and lead you.

And the truth is letting God hold our hands is easier said than done. I’ve once had to deal with being in a place where I was so quick in making decisions without checking in with God first to see if that’s what He actually wants for me. And then when it becomes overwhelming and in my calm but overwhelmed state I remember that I never actually asked His opinion and I do, I realize I didn’t have to go through all that trouble. If I’d just sought His face first and let myself trust that He would always infinitely know better, I would have saved myself the trouble and stress. He would have led me to still waters that would not trouble my soul as regards that issue.

And that is why I feel incredibly moved that the Lord brings this lesson to the fore to me today as I begin the month of June. It is a reminder to me especially that for the remainder of the year, if I can always remember that His hands are always open and willing and ready to lead me, then I can be rest assured that He will never lead me to troubled waters. He will always lead me to still waters. And still waters may not appear still on the outside but on my inside I will be still and at peace because I will know without a shadow of doubt that His strong Arms and Hands are holding me and leading me.

Photo by Lachlan Ross on Pexels.com

This month signifies the end of the first half of the year. And it means we have just over 6 months to walk in the remainder of the Lord’s goodness and graciousness for the year. If you haven’t made the conscious effort to let the Lord hold your hands and lead you, I will invite and encourage you to do so for the remainder of the year.

Yes, I know it is and can be a very scary something to trust Someone you can’t physically see to hold your hands and lead you. But until you try it, you won’t know exactly what you’re missing out on. Who doesn’t want to be lead to still waters where they can get perfect peace for their life!? And yet, you can only enjoy that if you let Him hold your hands and shepherd you and your life.

As you let Him hold your hands, you can be sure that He will make you unstoppable, limitless and bigger beyond your wildest imagination. And here I will do no more than point you to the song that was dropped in my spirit man as I woke up this morning – Moses Bliss, Bigger Everyday. For me, I know the reference to that song is a prophetic declaration over my life for the month and the remainder of the year – that I will be limitless, unstoppable and bigger beyond my wildest imagination.

I hope the words of that song blesses you too and becomes your reality in this month and the remainder of the year. God bless.

Leave a comment